MMOs and more

Guardian leveling guide 1-15

Skill Level: Moderate

The Guardians are protectors of the weak and defenders of those in need. They are capable of withstanding mighty blows and retaliating in kind. True Guardians stand to the forefront of battle, shielding their allies from enemy assaults.

Role: Tank

The Guardian’s ability to wear heavy armour and defensive skills enable the Guardian to face creatures that would make other heroes’ morale fail. Guardians also have the ability to draw foes’ attention away from their allies and to themselves.

Level Might Agility Vitality Will Fate Morale Power
1 14 10 14 11 8 142 143

Pick your Race

Hobbit Man Elf Dwarf

Your choice or race will change your starting statistics and your initial voyage through the story. If you are familiar with the game you can skip the user tutorial if not I would recommend going through it. I do however recommend not skipping the introduction quest line which if nothing else will allow you to get to level 7 without being in any real danger. During the introduction the game will guide you through most of your user interface or UI but there is much more to your UI. By hitting ctrl+o will open your UI settings panel which will allow you to change you graphics, audio, UI, and others. as you go through your options if you hover your mouse you should get a tool tip to explain the options.

A little bit on character creation. Sorry about the sound quality I still need a new microphone.

Once you move into your intro area you will need to find your first quest bestowal from one of the non-player characters or NPCs that have gold rings above their heads.

And now on to Skills these are the skills you can acquire through the first 15 levels.

Level Skill Cost
1 Sting Start
1 Guardian’s Ward Start
1 Shield-blow Start
2 Sweeping Cut 20
4 Shield-swipe 32
4 Guardian’s Defense 32
5 Horn Use 250
5 Lute Use 250
6 Vexing Blow 72
7 Block : Rank 1 4 90
8 Retaliation 1 28
9 Parry : Rank 1 8 10
10 Bash 3
10 Overwhelm 3
11 Evade : Rank 1 12 10
11 Accuracy : Rank 1 12 10
12 Guardian’s Parry 7 20
13 Melee Critical : Rank 1 16 90
14 Whirling Retaliation 19 60
15 Heavy Armour ?
15 Heavy Shields ?

Now for the quest Areas once you get through your intro area you should be level 7 at least on average depending on how many mobs you kill. Now you will find yourself in your race specific starter area, Dwarves start in Thorin’s Hall, Elves in Celondim, Humans in Archet, and Hobbits in Little Delving. Both the Human and Hobbit Areas lead into much larger and in my opinion more complete areas Bree and the Shire respectively. Once you have completed the introduction you will find many more NPCs with gold rings above their heads. Take as many quest as you can find, kill as many monsters as you can and loot everything. It will not take you long to reach level 15 probably just a few hours if you do not take a break. There are many other things that I have not covered like traits and crafting I will get to it but except for crafting you probably won’t even run into any of it until level 15. And once you get to level 15 you will be able to do your first Guardian class quest.

Quest:A Shield Against Adversity

You get this quest from any Guardian class trainer and they will send you to talk to Oswin Leek at the North-gate of Bree-town.

Objective 1:
The mighty guardian Oswin Leek is outside the North-gate of the town of Bree.
You have been told to speak with Oswin Leek for further instruction in the ways of the guardian.

• Talk to Oswin Leek

Objective 2:
Burle Pierson is at his farm south of Bree.
The mighty guardian Oswin Leek has asked you to help Burle Pierson defend his farm from the escalating raids of the brigands.

• Talk to Burle Pierson

Objective 3:
Oswin Leek is at the North-gate of Bree.
You have done as Oswin Leek asked, and Burle Pierson’s farm is safe from the brigands. Guardian Leek is waiting to speak with you.

• Talk to Oswin Leek

Once you complete this quest you will most likely be receiving your first Trait Deflected Blows which allows you to recover some of your power when you block an attack.

Also you will receive Threk-hálm and 1 80 as a quest reward.

in the next post we will cover levels 16-30


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s